Friday, July 5, 2013

Kidnapped Bride in Central Asia

Since I had one month vacation I ended up being bored and I can’t go out because it’s raining outside.  So I ended up watching documentaries in YouTube in an attempt to pass time. I ended up watching This Video 

though I would admit that somehow the twisted part of me romanticize of the idea that someone would kidnap a woman he loves so much but the whole world seem not to agree with what they both feel, they run away into a place where no one know or recognize them and start a new life and they live happily ever after.


The life of the woman on that video though is not a fairy tale like ending, as most realities are. These happen in Kyrgyzstan (Know Something about the Country here) a country in central Asia who have a weird or let me just say sick tradition of kidnapping their bride.  Some are their friends that they think suited to be their wife, some are GF but they want to get away with the high price of a bride and worst thing some are strangers. 


For me this tradition should be left behind, if a man loves a woman he should be asking for his hands, if a  woman loves him back she wont be thinking about his price. Woman is not a commodity that if they go second hand their price will go down. I find this tradition so sick I pity for this girls.

I have heard a lot about shot gun wedding, arrange marriage and child bride but this is the first time I heard about it..  they are sick and twisted. These are the kind of tradition better left behind and forgotten. sigh!

Monday, July 1, 2013

It's Kimchi every Meal

Do you have a food you love that you cant eat without it? 

Well as for me aside from rice (basically most Asians if not all cant eat without it) I can't eat without kimchi.
I'm not Korean nor wanted to act like one but I really like kimchi. It was actually weird cause I learn to love kimchi when I was in China. Chinese people don't really eat much of these and it's not a mandatory part of every mean, but in Korea it is. 

When I came back to the Philippines I still cant eat without it so I usually buy Kimchi at my favorite Korean Restaurant. Until one day I came hope and the house smells kimchi, I was thinking maybe my sister took my kimchi out from the fridge again (she hates the smell) and I'm ready to get angry BUT I was amazed when I open the fridge and there are lots and lots and lots of kimchi. I was thinking wow, is it my birthday (none of them people inside the house likes it as much as I do, so its for sure basically for me) but it's not so I wonder who bought all those kimchi, it's clearly a miracle and who ever bought it could be out of his/her mind.It's quite expensive about 300-400 php/kilo (9-10 usd) and there are at least 10kg inside the fridge.


Well only to find out it's not directly really for me. My dad has a Korean friend who just gave him the recipe of kimchi and since cabbage those days are a bit cheap he wanted to experiment on it. He was a bit disappointed that the taste is not as good as the one I usually bought, it still taste kimchi none the less. So I am still happy. I also learn how to cook kimchi chigue - kimchi fried rice and my two picky sister did like it. 


I wish I  can give some recipe on how to make kimchi but since I dont really know how to cook one, I cant make it believable hehe :) so if you want to try to make kimchi click the link below to learn how. I will try to post my version though of kimchi fried rice soon.


A myth so cute to share : The reason korean woman are so hot in bed is because of eating kimchi.

Visitors